How Photography can make you a better Writer

By Nestor

I am not a good writer, but I would like to be. One of the main reasons I started this blog is to improve this. I feel I am a decent photographer and I am realizing allot of skills and lessons I have learned taking pictures over the past years can be applied successfully to writing. The following things are photography lessons I learned and I am trying to apply to my writing.

Please continue reading

Only show your best stuff
In photography you only show your best images. Allot of photographers starting out upload all their photos and overwhelm their audience with images and also with mediocrity. A great photographer knows which images work and why they work.
The same goes for writing, it’s not that hard to type up a massive amount of words, but it takes editing to make sure these sentences flow together to one cohesive piece. The same thing goes for this post, I originally had 10 posts, but some were similar and easily combined and some were to weak too stand on their own, so I narrowed it down to my strongest thoughts.

Have a solid message
Be clear to your audience. Don’t try to squeeze in multiple messages in one photo or paragraph. In photography you try to have a clear subject in your photo and all the other elements are there to support that subject. In writing that is your main message, and all your points should support this.

Don’t be afraid to get out of your comfort zone
There are many types of photography ranging from landscapes to fashion. Each type makes you observe the situation differently. Be versatile and try to pick up as much from different sources. Try being funny while writing or emulating a famous writers style, don’t fall into a routine.

Get inspired by others
There are only so many things to photograph yet there can be hundreds of fascinating photos of the same subject. One of the most common pieces of advice I see on how to improve your writing is to read, read and read. This doesn’t mean passive reading to entertain yourself, but rather reading with an understanding why an author is writing in a certain way and why a paragraph works or not.

Take notes
I often inspired by ideas of themes from an ad on the subway or an observation which could be an interesting photography theme, write this down. Ideas are fleeting.

“The artist is a receptacle for emotions that come from all over the place: from the sky, from the earth, from a scrap of paper, from a passing shape, from a spider’s web.”

Pablo Picasso

And if we do not receive this idea will float to someone else or will be lost in the void forever.

I will use these 5 lessons in the following months to improve my writing and maybe it can help you too. Do you apply any lessons from your other skills to improve your writing?

Leave a Reply

