Carlos Slim, here I come

by Nestor

Let me begin by saying that I’ll pretend to be an adult and not make any Dong-related jokes. First thing I do when I get to any airport lounge is to head over to the money exchange booth. Since I am taking a budget flight with Tiger Air there aren’t any recognizable money exchanger like AMEX or UOB. Instead it was some nondescript booth that did give me some faith when I noticed the lit up board with all the exhange rates and the fact all people working there were wearing pants.

I dug deep into my pockets and pulled out all the cash I had on me, which was a whopping S$700. I hand the cash over,ask for some Dong and get S$1,40 back and 10,000,000 in Vietnamese Dong. That’s right, you are reading the words of a bonafide Vietnamese multi-millionaire. “We are talking 8 digits, baby, Carlos Slim, ain’t got nothing on me” (I’ve always wondered why the world richest man sounds like a gangsta rapper from Juarez). To get back to my newly discovered wealth I am now considering to move from my planned stay in an ordinary hostel to something more fitting my new social status, like a Gold-plated Hostel or some pho with almost extinct tiger meat.

 

 

One response to “Carlos Slim, here I come

  1. Keep up the great piece of work, I read few articles on this web site and I think that your weblog is really interesting and contains circles of wonderful info.

Leave a Reply

