Space Invaders: Paris Edition

When I walk around cities I always look around for grafitti, stencils and sticker art. I’ve been doing that since the pre-internet days of finding stencil art of “obey” and wondering why Andre the Giant had a posse.

In Amsterdam I came across these tiles that form the old video game character of Space Invaders. I had heard of this artist before from the documentary “Exit through the giftship” about the most famous street artists of all; Banksy.

Wikipedia has the following to say about this particular videogame inspired artist: Invader (born 1969) is a French urban artist who pastes up characters from and inspired by the Space Invaders game, made up of small coloured square tiles that form a mosaic. He does this in cities across the world.

In the end I only saw one in Amsterdam but when I came to Paris I saw them everywhere over the following few days. I think even the name space invaders is brilliant as his pieces are indeed invading (especially seen from the perspective of city officials) our spaces.

I somehow really like the concept of street art as it is often people wanting to express themselves in a public space. Too much of this space is already filled with brain numbing advertisements and meaningless promotions. When people are able to express themselves in a interesting and thoughtfull way I feel it adds so much to a cities character. Off course this isn’t always the case and sometimes you get people tagging and defacing property with meaningless drivel.

But in the end I would so much rather have more street art (good and bad) than another promotional poster for the latest bodycare cream, hollywood movie or shiny new smartphone.

Leave a Reply

