El Peñol or El Peñón de Guatapé

I didn’t really know what to type about this attraction since I didn’t actually go all the way up this huge rock (Heejung did though). I consulted wikipedia seeing what I could copy and paste and discovered there seems to be a dispute about which town the rock belongs to and which name it has. I remember being in Guatape and asking about El Peñol ( which is how the guidebooks refer it as) but the locals in Guatape corrected us in saying it was “El Peñón de Guatapé“.

In the end, I don’t know what the correct name is, but it remains a massive piece of rock.

A view of Guatape’s church.

A well in the nearby town of Guatape.

Unfinished versus finished result of the famous decorations on the houses of Guatape.

Leave a Reply

