Day 1 of Salar de Uyuni

This was my most anticipated place during our whole South American trip. the photo’s I’ve seen of this place are surreal. And a surreal place it is. I didn’t know that surrounding the massive salt desert there were so many lagoons, volcanoes, wildlife. I wish I was more of a landscape photography guy so I could have taken more interesting photo’s but those 3 days were unforgettable.

salar de uyuni (16)

The blue part is the former sea which is now the largest salt desert in the world.

salar de uyuni (18)

salar de uyuni (21)

salar de uyuni (3)

salar de uyuni (22)

1200 year old Cactus. Now dead.

salar de uyuni (24)

One of my camera’s; the sprocketrocket

salar de uyuni (5)

salar de uyuni (6)

salar de uyuni (28)

Building stones made from salt. One village we passed through had all the houses made from salt.

salar de uyuni (7)

Our tour jeep. Didn’t look that great, but was very comfortable.

salar de uyuni (14)

salar de uyuni (12)

salar de uyuni (13)

salar de uyuni (9)

salar de uyuni (11)

salar de uyuni (25)

salar de uyuni (26)

salar de uyuni (23)

salar de uyuni (19)

salar de uyuni (20)

2 responses to “Day 1 of Salar de Uyuni

  1. Wow, cool. Did they film a James Bond film here? The second one w/ Daniel Craig (it sucked).

    • I don’t know if it was there. I remember the sequence in the desert but I dont think it was there. And it did suck, but so did the pierce brosnan ones.

Leave a Reply

